Studio VBK
04 Nov 2016 Design

Retail Fonts for Latin Alphabet (A–Z)

The following is an attempt to create an alphabetical directory of commercial and independent digital type foundries stocking retail fonts. At present, the emphasis is on functional contemporary designs for western european languages and desktop licenses (not web or mobile).

For a more comprehensive listing, visit Luc Devroye's online encyclopedia or the Type Foundries Archive. As this is a work-in-progress, you are welcome to contribute or report mistakes and broken links to


Owned by Monotype Imaging:





  • BAT Foundry
    estd. 2009 by Bruno Bernard, Stéphane Buellet, Jean-Baptiste Levée and Patrick Paleta, Paris;
    see also: Production Type
  • Binnenland
    estd. 2007 by Michael Mischler and Niklaus Thoenen, Bern
  • Bold Monday
    estd. 2008 by Paul van der Laan and Pieter van Rosmalen, The Hague & Eindhoven


  • Canada Type
    estd. 2004 by Rebecca Alaccari and Patrick Griffin, Toronto
  • Colophon
    estd. 2009 by The Entente (joined in 2013 by Benjamin Critton Art Dept), London & New York
  • Commercial Type
    estd. 2007 by Paul Barnes and Christian Schwartz, New York & London
  • Coppers and Brasses
    estd. 2012 by Alexandre Saumier Demers and ɉtienne Aubert Bonn, Montréal


  • Dalton Maag
    estd. 1991 by Bruno Maag, London
  • Darden Studio
    estd. 2004 by Joshua Darden, Brooklyn
  • DSType
    estd. 1994 (or 2001?) by Dino Dos Santos, Porto (Portugal)
  • Dunwich
    estd. 2009 by James Puckett, Colorado


  • Editions 205
    estd. 2011 by Damien Gautier and Quentin Margat, Lyon
  • Emtype
    estd. 2000 by Eduardo Manso, Barcelona
  • Émigré
    estd. 1987 by Rudy VanderLans and Zuzana Licko, Berkeley (California)


  • FaceType
    estd. 2008, Vienna
  • Famira Fonts
    *launching soon
  • Fatype
    estd. 2012 by Anton Koovit and Yassin Baggar, Berlin & Neuchatel
  • FDI
    estd. 2004, Germany. run by Ralf Herrmann
  • Feliciano Type Foundry
    estd. 2001 by Mário Feliciano, Lisbon
  • Font Smith
  • estd. 1997 by Jason Smith, London
  • Fontfabric
    estd. 2008 by Svet Simov, Sofia City (Bulgaria)
  • Fontpartners
    estd. 2006 by Morten Rostgaard Olsen and Ole Søndergaard, Helsingør
  • Fort Foundry
    estd. by Mattox Shuler, Athens (Georgia)
  • The Foundry
    estd. 1989–90 by David Quay and Freda Sack, London
  • Fountain
    estd. 1993 by Peter Bruhn, Malmö (Sweden)
  • Frere-Jones Type
    estd. 2015 by Tobias Frere-Jones, Brooklyn (New York)


  • G-Type
    estd. 1999 by Nick Cooke, UK
  • Gestalten
    estd. 2003, Berlin
  • Grilli Type
    estd. 2009 by Noël Leu and Thierry Blancpain, Zürich





  • Klim
    estd. 2005 by Kris Sowersby, Wellington


  • Letterhead Fonts
    estd. 1998 by Chuck Davis, Reno (Nevada)
  • Letters from Sweden
    estd. 2011 by Göran Söderström and Fredrik Andersson, Stockholm
  • Lineto
    estd. 1993 by Cornel Windlin and Stephan Müller, Küssnacht (Switzerland)
  • Lucas Fonts
    estd. 2000 by Luc(as) de Groot, Berlin
  • Ludwig Type
    estd. 2007 by Ludwig Übele, Berlin


  • Mark Simonson
    estd. 2000, Saint Paul (Minnesota)
  • MCKL
    estd. 2012 by Jeremy Mickel, Los Angeles (prev. Mickel Design)
  • MilieuGrotesque
    estd. 2010 by Timo Gaessner and Alexander Colby, Zürich
  • Monokrom
    estd. 2012 by Frode Helland and Sindre Bremnes, Birkeland (Norway)
  • MVB Fonts
    estd. 1991 by Mark van Bronkhorst, Albany (California)



  • Okay Type
    estd. 2009 by Jackson Cavanaugh, Chicago
  • Optimo
    estd. 1998 by Gilles Gavillet, Stéphane Delgado and David Rust, Geneva
  • Our Type
    estd. 2002 by Fred Smeijers, Netherlands




  • Schick Toikka
    estd. 2010 by Florian Schick and Lauri Toikka, Berlin & Helsinki
  • Sharp Type
    estd. 2015 by Lucas Sharp and Chantra Malee, New York City
  • Shinntype
    estd. 1999 by Nick Shinn, Canada
  • Sorkin Type
    estd. 2011 by Eben Sorkin, Boston
  • Stone
    estd. 1990 by Sumner Stone, California
  • Storm Type
    estd. 1993-4 by František Štorm, Prague
  • Sudtipos
    estd. 2003 by Alejandro Paul and Ariel Garofalo, Argentina
  • Suitcase Type Foundry
    estd. 2003 by Tomáš Brousil, Prague
  • Swiss Typefaces
    estd. 2011, run by Ian Party and Emmanuel Rey (prev. B+P Swiss Typefaces)


  • Terminal Design
    estd. 1990 by James Montalbano, Brooklyn
  • Tipografies
    estd. 2010 by Jordi Embodas, Barcelona
  • Tiponautas
    estd. 2010 by Luis Alonso and Ricardo Santos, Spain & Portugal
  • Type Culture
    estd. by Mark Jamra
  • Type Invaders
    estd. 2000 by Paul van der Laan, The Hague
  • TypeManufactur
    estd. 2008 by Georg Salden and Ludwig Übele, Berlin
  • Typerepublic
    estd. 2003 by Andreu Balius, Barcelona
  • Type Trust
    estd. 2005 by Silas Dilworth (and Neil Summerour), Los Angeles
  • Typofonderie
    estd. 1994 by Jean Francois Porchez, Paris (prev. Porchez Typofonderie)
    estd. by Jonathan Fabreguettes, France
  • Type-Ø-Tones
    estd. 1990 by Joan Barjau, Enric Jardí, Laura Meseguer and José Manuel Urós, Barcelona
  • TypeTogether (TT)
    estd. 2006 by Veronika Burian and José Scaglione, Prague
  • Typolar
    estd. 2006 by Jarno Lukkarila, Helsinki
  • Typotheque
    estd. 1999 by Peter Biľak, The Hague


  • Underware
    estd. 1999 by Akiem Helmling, Bas Jacobs and Sami Kortemäki, Den Haag, Helsinki & Amsterdam



Retail Fonts for Latin Alphabet (A–Z) Journal